Sudan - Administrative Boundaries (levels 0-2)

  • 2900+ Downloads
  • This dataset updates: Every year


Related Showcases

There are no showcases for this dataset.

Source Information Management Working Group (IMWG), OCHA
Date of Dataset Jun 16, 2017
Updated February 20, 2020
Expected Update Frequency Every year


Caveats / Comments

Please see sdn_admbnda_20191128_metadata.txt metadata file.

28 November 2019 UPDATE: In order to conform to the administrative framework used by the 2019 Response Planning and Monitoring Module (RPM) the Sudan gazetteer has been updated to include records for eighteen administrative level 2 (district) features (found in 9 administrative level 1 (state) features) for which boundaries are not yet available. The new gazetteer spreadsheet file is called "sdn_adminboundaries_tabulardata_2019.xlsx" and the new feature "shape*" fields contain "NO GEOMETRY".

The state boundaries and names assigned to the states does not imply official endorsement or acceptance by the United Nations. Final boundary between the Republic of Sudan and the Republic of South Sudan has not yet been determined. Final status of the Abyei area is not yet determined.

The state boundaries are adjusted to match the international boundaries. The two Kordofan states have changed into three Kordofan states (North, South and West)

File Format