Nigeria - Subnational Administrative Boundaries

Source Office for the Surveyor General of the Federation of Nigeria (OSGOF), Ehealth, United Nations Cartographic Section (UNCS)
Date of Dataset February 23, 2017
Updated April 22, 2020
Expected Update Frequency Never

Admin Level 3 (Wards) boundaries were developed by Ehealth Africa through the collation of settlements referred to as “Microplan” within each Local Government Area (LGA).

The list is then sent to Ward focal points and traditional leaders from respective LGAs to verify which Wards the settlements belong. This confirmation forms the basis for demarcating the ward boundaries. The ehealth boundaries are operational and constantly being updated.

The Ehealth boundaries are also cross-checked with the list of wards available from the Independent National Electoral Commission to harmonise the two available sources of ward level information.

The Nigeria boundaries from OSGOF and wards from Ehealth were reviewed by ITOS to clean and align the wards with the boundaries for Admin 0, 1 and 2 and international boundaries.

The complete evaluation report for the ITOS process can be found here

Caveats / Comments

APRIL 25, 2019 UPDATE: The Senatorial Districts are now fully integrated into the gazetteer, zip files, live services, and the COD-PS.

MARCH 11, 2019 UPDATE: Senatorial district shapefile added.

Read me included in the datasets to provide guidance on use of fields.

Admin level 3 are developed for operational purposes only.

Two wards in the Administrative registry file (Sagir and Wurge) in Ngala, Borno State are not demarcated in the shapefile due to access constraint.

The COD replaces the following datasets:

File Format