Malawi administrative level 0-3 boundaries

  • 1900+ Downloads
  • This dataset updates: Every year


Related Showcases

There are no showcases for this dataset.

Malawi administrative level 0 (country), 1 (region), 2 (district or city council), and 3 (traditional authority area) boundary polygon and line shapefiles and KMZ files and gazetteer.

P-codes are based on the NSO Admin 3 code system.

Some humanitarian actors are using an alternative 28-unit administrative level 2 (district) structure instead of the endorsed 32-unit structure. A lookup table is provided.

These shapefiles are suitable for database or ArcGIS linkage to the Malawi administrative level 0-3 population statistics tables.

Data and Resources


Source National Statistics Office of Malawi
Date of Dataset Oct 22, 2018
Expected Update Frequency Every year

Downloaded from the National Statistics Office of Malawi 2008 files. Topology and P-codes cleaned by OCHA ROSEA.

(Gaps were noted in the previous HDX data in TA Ngabu AFRMWI31001, STA Mponela AFRMWI20407 and below Lake Chilwa AFRMWI30399. Two of the gaps were over urban areas, and the other over lake Chilwa in the east. In the new data set from NSO the gaps are filled).

Administrative Boundaries levels 0-2 were dissolved from the administrative level 3 boundaries.

Final processing and quality control performed by ITOS.

Caveats / Comments

The administrative level 0 (country) polygon boundary KMZ file was made from a generalized (tolerance 0.0001 degree) source because of the large number of vertices.