Kenya - Subnational Administrative Boundaries

  • 17000+ Downloads
  • This dataset updates: Every year


Related Showcases

There are no showcases for this dataset.

Source IEBC
Date of Dataset July 03, 2018-August 19, 2022
Updated 28 September 2021
Expected Update Frequency Every year

Extensive amount of topological errors (gaps and overlaps) were fixed by using ArcMap Integrate tool. Applying 30 meters tolerance allowed to preserve relatively high level of resolution. Afterwards Align edge tool was used to correct all the remaining errors that were not rectified by the Integrate tool.

Codes were reformatted to meet FICSS-UNHCR standards. New generation of codes is based on original County_cod and Const_Code. (Codes are preserve in the dataset in DSCodeAdm2 and DSCodeAdm1 fields– DSC (Data Source Code))

Moreover, a large part of the Belgut and Konoin Admin2 units were overlapping. The issue was resolved using as a reference.

Due to the discrepancies between Admin1 and Admin 2 boundaries listed in the previous email, the Admin1 layer was created by dissolving Admin2 boundaries based on constituency name field.

Caveats / Comments

This dataset is not an official administrative layer from the National authorities but was agreed and endorsed for operational use by IMWG in October 2016

The administrative level 2 boundaries do not conform to the COD-PS.

The boundaries and names shown and the designations used on this map do not imply official endorsement or acceptance by the United Nations.

File Format